Monday, July 16, 2007

Restoring Habeas

Via Andrew Sullivan, we're reminded of one of the most important votes in history - restoring Habeas Corpus.

I'll leave the analysis of the Bill and the Amendment to those more knowledgeable on the details. I just wanted to make sure all of us look at the list of Democratic Senators compiled by Bob Geiger who have not signed on yet.

Which leaves us with the following Democrats who haven't signed on to support either one:

Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
Max Baucus (D-MT)
Evan Bayh (D-IN)
Robert Casey (D-PA)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Herb Kohl (D-WI)
Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Ben Nelson (D-NE)
Mark Pryor (D-AR)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Jon Tester (D-MT)
James Webb (D-VA)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Does it matter if they sign on as cosponsors to the Habeas Corpus Restoration Act of 2007? Yes, it does. For one, it tells us what our running vote count is and gives us some sense of who's going to ultimately vote for it.

While I hope that a good number of Republicans will cross on this one, we need to make sure that every Democrat is on board. Take Bob's advice and call before Thursday:

So get on the phone today and call the Senators still not committed to cosponsoring this critical legislation as they may still need a nudge to sign on that dotted line.

Here's the toll-free number to dial at the U.S. Capitol: 800-862-5530. Just call and ask to be connected to your Senator's office. If you get a chronic busy signal you can see a directory of direct lines to Senate offices here (PDF).

This is the biggest danger to average citizens perpetrated by Bush. We must end it here and now.

Take a listen to Keith Olbermann spell out the dangers as you dial and dial.